Thanks Mom! – My #ThankfulThursday Message

by Liz daRosa @lizdaRosa

On this #ThankfulThursday, I want to take a moment to reflect and be grateful for my Success Journey and inspirational women in my life. Last week I shared some inspirational quotes from successful women and talked about the #CareerSpark that can result.

Today, I want to focus on the successes of women I admire and what I takeaway from their life & career journey. Here are the top two women I look up to and what I’ve learned from their successes.

WHO: My Mom
SUCCESS: Earned her B.S. at the age of 33, while holding a job (which paid for her degree) & raising 2 young children.
MY TAKEAWAY: I remember my mom studying, she wasn’t a ‘natural’ student but she was always an avid reader, which served her well in her studies. She earned a B.S. in Economics (not an easy subject, in the least) from Elmhurst College, a private liberal arts school in the suburbs of Chicago. I was probably 9 when she graduated and I remember the ceremony as I well as I recall my own graduation ceremonies. The memory is vividly etched in my mind, it was the first graduation I went to and even as a child, I instinctively knew it was a great accomplishment. My dad’s financial and emotional support was instrumental in her success.
PROPELS ME TO: 1) Have a dream; 2) Know that I can successfully manage my responsibilities; 3) Realize that dreams come true but in your unique timeline not anyone else’s and 4) Lean on my spouse for support because we are a Team!

Mom's Are LOVE!

Mom’s Are LOVE!

WHO: My Mother-In-Law (Mae)
SUCCESS: Immigrated to the U.S. from the Azores by way of Mozambique with young 5 children in tow. Once in the U.S., Mae secured a management position & held it for over 20 years, retiring with a pension. She learned English, earned a GED and had a home-cooked meal (no t.v. dinners at this house!) on the table every night.
MY TAKEAWAY: I’m continually amazed by Mae’s inner strength and dogged determination. She provided a stable home life for her family and nurtured their acclimation in a new country, for the second time. For a time, Mae was a successful Avon representative and she didn’t speak English; she had serious Hustle!
PROPELS ME TO: 1) Push through Fear of new experiences; and 2) Embrace my Hustle to provide for my family.

My examples are of mother figures in my life, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t other women who are inspirational to me. I hope that today you are able to reflect on at least one woman you look up to who’s a member of your family, a close friend or even a person you’ve never met but you’ve admired her #SuccessJourney from afar.

Take the lessons learned from these inspirational women and use them to propel you in your #SuccessJourney. Momentum comes from one success – create that opportunity for yourself today.

As always feel free to leave a Reply below or send me an email to share your comments or ask a question. Let me know how I can support your career #SuccessJourney.

Your Career Coach, Liz

About the Author: Liz daRosa is a businesswoman who looks to women for inspiration to guide her own #SuccessJourney. She has a career blog Your Career Coach, Liz and tweets here. Liz coaches individuals in career transition and smallbiz owners who want too increase their professional success.

8 thoughts on “Thanks Mom! – My #ThankfulThursday Message

  1. Many of the things that don’t immediately make an impression, do later. It’s amazing to me that the older I get, the smarter (and wiser) my parents were.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am glad to know that I inspired and motivated you to be such a strong individual you are today. I know all mothers would be proud of such a tribute.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Your Career Coach, Liz and commented:

    As we quickly approach Mother’s Day – I thought this post deserves another run.

    These are two incredible mothers in my life…I hope this makes you reflect on the impact your mother or mother-figure has had on your life. Be thankful for her/them and make sure you TELL or SHOW them how much they mean to you. Don’t wait for Mother’s Day – do it today!

    Stay positive, be thankful & go get what you want.

    Your Career Coach, Liz

    Like

  4. This was sweet! My mom has shown me to keep a grateful heart and keep going. I’m glad you had such beautiful women in your life to inspire you to do the same. Cheers to good mamas and dream chasing!!
    xoxo
    p.s Thank you, for sharing with me at Thank You Notes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m very blessed. I’m glad I found the Thank You Notes linkup. I’ll be back – it’s vital to be grateful & talk about our blessings with other women. It helps create our community.

      Like

  5. I have so many wonderful mother-figures in my life. I am grateful to have had them as role models and to have them as my mentors. My mother, my mother-in-law, the mothers of my best friends, my grandmothers. I am blessed by many “crones” and I’m thankful for them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

