Success is Knocking…Will You Open the Door?

On Wednesday I posted about several SUCCESSES I had in January. I included some adjustments I need to make in February to build on my current SUCCESSES.

Tomorrow is the last day of the month, have you taken the time to do an inventory of your SUCCESSES & WINS? If not, why? If so, what did you learn?

If you haven’t maybe you are scared, scared of succeeding. I was scared of success. Growing up my younger brother, almost 5 years my junior, was (somehow) exceptional in every way, he was so smart he was put in the “gifted” program (before they had AP classes), he played basketball & baseball very well, he was very well liked by his peers and his teachers, and so on. There was no way I could compete. There were high expectations on him because he performed so well in everything. On-the-other-hand, there were minimal expectations on me and that was nice…or so I thought.

After graduating high school, I got tired of being an average student, I got sick of being invisible so I opened the door for success and it swept over me. Now, I didn’t become an all-star athlete or a 4.0 student like my brother, those weren’t my successes. But I did enjoy my own successes. If you would have told my younger self that I was going to grad school and then on to teach I would have called you a liar. I didn’t enjoy school until I became passionate about learning when I was in grad school. It’s funny how sometimes our biggest successes are found in the most unlikely places.

I’d love to hear about one of your successes or your struggle to sustain or improve on them. Maybe I’m not the one to help you but maybe I can connect you with someone who has the skills to assist. This morning I was coaching a professional who took the leap of faith to start her own business and she mentioned she had a consulting opportunity in the cosmetology industry. I don’t know anything about the cosmetology industry but I have someone in my network that I’ve developed a good rapport with and I connected the two via email. Hopefully, they will be able to talk on the phone, share information and maybe find ways to be resources to each other.

Take the time to listen for the knocking because sometimes it’s as fierce as a SWAT team but other times it’s as light as a feather. Open the door and let SUCCESS sweep you away. And most importantly share your SUCCESSES with your family, friends and network we’ll celebrate with you!

Your Career Transition Coach, Liz

Leave a Reply

