Draft YOUR (Transition) Success Story!

I get questions everyday about when to start transition planning. It’s a tricky question & there’s no blanket answer, Everyone’s story is unique. Everyone’s definition of a success story is personal.

Your success story starts while you in the military. The journey during your military career, whether 4 years or 40 years, has you forging new relationships, accomplishing shared goals & overcoming challenges.

The only person who can answer the question of when to start transition planning is you. When I was accepted into a doctoral program, my mentor John Niemi told me that I should write all papers, in all classes with my dissertation in mind. That was brilliant advice! Over the course of my studies the topic I thought on Day 1 ended up evolving & becoming more refined. The advice gave me purpose.

Your purpose is your personal strategic plan. Do you have one? Have you been following your plan? Positioning yourself while you are in the military is key to an effective transition.

Why haven’t you started? It’s not too late – start today!

Leave a Reply

